Success

Suggestions around PrimoCache
Post Reply
tverweij
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu May 10, 2018 9:27 am

Success

Post by tverweij »

System: HP385 G7, 12 core, 2 Tb Raid 10 with 8 NLSAS (7200Tpm), 128Gb Ram, P410/2Gb BB-WriteCache, Windows 2016, HyperV role with 10 VM's.
The system was almost not usable anymore - too slow (too much VM's for the disk system).

But with 32 Gb L1 Readonly cache installed (no L2 cache), and now the system performs like there are SSD drives in it. :D
At this moment still trial, so I will update within 60 days.

No suggestions needed in my case.

User avatar
Jaga
Posts: 483
Joined: Sat Jan 25, 2014 1:11 am

Re: Success

Post by Jaga »

I keep telling people Primocache is good software. Glad it helped you. :)

User avatar
support
Posts: 2702
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2008 2:42 am

Re: Success

Post by support »

:D Thanks!
Primo Ramdisk | PrimoCache
Romex Software Support

tverweij
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu May 10, 2018 9:27 am

Re: Success update

Post by tverweij »

Did several tests in different machines, and it looks like 1Gb cache per 40Gb used disk space is almost optimal in the Hyper-V scenario (cache/disk = 2.5%). More does not really help anymore, less decreases the cache hit rate.

Post Reply