Dynamic L1 Write Cache

Suggestions around PrimoCache
Post Reply
Gnathonic
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2021 5:01 pm

Dynamic L1 Write Cache

Post by Gnathonic »

I know dynamic L1 cache has been requested before. However with Windows automatically doing that with the entirety of ones free RAM nowadays, that's somewhat redundant for the purposes of read caching.
I use the "shared read and write cache" option on L1 ONLY because I don't want that RAM going completely to waste when there are no writes being buffered.
If it were possible to use a L1 as a write buffer that can grow up to a set limit, and that releases its blocks once they have been written. I'd use that instead. I think this is what most of us actually want L1 for. Writing to our L2 SSDs wears them down, and being able to buffer writes to our free RAM extends our L2's lifespan.

If the dynamic L1 cache option were limited in scope to the place where it would offer users the most benefit, a dynamically allocated write buffer, would that make it simple enough to be worth the dev time?
User avatar
Support
Support Team
Support Team
Posts: 3112
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2008 2:42 am

Re: Dynamic L1 Write Cache

Post by Support »

Thank you for your suggestion!
steveb
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2021 7:58 am

Re: Dynamic L1 Write Cache

Post by steveb »

From my understanding L1 read cache is different to how Windows manages its read cache. My limited understanding is that Windows will cache the full file and is not at the block level. Then depending on your use case you might get better hit ratio with PrimoCache using the memory instead.
Post Reply