Cache task wiped upon windows update. Topic is solved

Found a bug? Report here
Post Reply
matthewh0798
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2020 1:52 am

Cache task wiped upon windows update.

Post by matthewh0798 »

Windows OS: Windows 10 Education (Same as Enterprise feature-wise)
Hardware Information
    CPU: Ryzen 9 3900X
    Main Board: AMD x470 Crosshair VII Hero
    Memory: 4x16GB 3200 MHz Cl16
    Hard Drives: 2x1 TB 970 Evos, 1x384 GB Optane, 1x4 TB 7200 RPM HDD
PrimoCache Version: 3.2.0
Screenshot(s) of your PrimoCache's main dialog showing cache configuration and statistics:

Problem Description:
Upon updating windows, the caching task gets cleared. This doesn't happen when shutting down or restarting the computer.

Steps to try and replicate the problem:
I had a clone of the drives from before the update, so i went ahead and restored the pc using macrium reflect.
I then updated again to see if the problem could be replicated, and it did indeed wipe the second time as well. I won't try again though because it takes way too long to restore form a clone even with them being on SSDs.
Attachments
primocache bug.PNG
primocache bug.PNG (66.33 KiB) Viewed 137 times
User avatar
Support
Support Team
Support Team
Posts: 2849
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2008 2:42 am

Re: Cache task wiped upon windows update.

Post by Support »

Sorry but do you mean that the whole cache task was deleted, or volumes under the cache task got removed, or cache contents got cleared?
Primo Ramdisk | PrimoCache
Romex Software Support
matthewh0798
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2020 1:52 am

Re: Cache task wiped upon windows update.

Post by matthewh0798 »

Sorry for the late reply, the cache contents get cleared. The cache task and volumes remain the same.
User avatar
Support
Support Team
Support Team
Posts: 2849
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2008 2:42 am

Re: Cache task wiped upon windows update.

Post by Support »

The process of Windows 10 major upgrade is like to reinstall Windows. It will update some data directly without the running of PrimoCache. Thus cached data stored in level-2 cache might become "outdated" after update. For safety, PrimoCache may reset the level-2 cache content.
Primo Ramdisk | PrimoCache
Romex Software Support
matthewh0798
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2020 1:52 am

Re: Cache task wiped upon windows update.

Post by matthewh0798 »

I see, thanks for letting me know.
Post Reply