Failed writing to image file

Report bugs or suggestions around Primo Ramdisk
Post Reply
MrZebulon
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Dec 25, 2016 8:33 am

Failed writing to image file

Post by MrZebulon »

Hi All.
Environment: Windows 8.1 w. latest updates.
32 GB Ram
Primo Ram Disk 5.7

Ram Disk:
4BG, SCSI (Direct IO, the same behavior), Image file on internal SSD.
Image timing save: 10 Minutes. Image format: plain. Load/Save.

Writing the image doesn't work. Neither direct via GUI nor via timing save, nor when shutting down.
Nothing happens.
The only way that works is to manually save the image via GUI with a different name.

What to do??

Kind regards
Roland
User avatar
Support
Support Team
Support Team
Posts: 3014
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2008 2:42 am

Re: Failed writing to image file

Post by Support »

Will the contents be saved and loaded after you restart the computer?
In Windows 8 or later, Windows fast startup is enabled by default. This will make computers enter the hibernate-like state when you shutdown the computer. So you may check the image file functionality first by restarting the computer.
Primo Ramdisk | PrimoCache
Romex Software Support
MrZebulon
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Dec 25, 2016 8:33 am

Re: Failed writing to image file

Post by MrZebulon »

Hello Suport.

>>Will the contents be saved and loaded after you restart the computer?

No - it won't.
I switched it off (without current) and on again. The image file was not saved.
When I try to manually save the image file (4GB) the message: "The disk contens have been successfully saved to the image file....."
appears immediately - too soon. To write a 4 GB file, even on a ssd, should take a couple of seconds. (10 -12 sec)

Kind regards
Roland
User avatar
Support
Support Team
Support Team
Posts: 3014
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2008 2:42 am

Re: Failed writing to image file

Post by Support »

Did you see the image file created?
Primo Ramdisk | PrimoCache
Romex Software Support
User avatar
Support
Support Team
Support Team
Posts: 3014
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2008 2:42 am

Re: Failed writing to image file

Post by Support »

Can you export your ramdisk settings for our reference?
Primo Ramdisk | PrimoCache
Romex Software Support
MrZebulon
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Dec 25, 2016 8:33 am

Re: Failed writing to image file

Post by MrZebulon »

The image file is created! I can save it manually to another image file. That's working.

VDD-File included. Remove .jpg -> add .vdd

Sent the file via mail to you.
User avatar
Support
Support Team
Support Team
Posts: 3014
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2008 2:42 am

Re: Failed writing to image file

Post by Support »

I checked your ramdisk settings and don't find any problems.
MrZebulon wrote:When I try to manually save the image file (4GB) the message: "The disk contens have been successfully saved to the image file....."appears immediately - too soon. To write a 4 GB file, even on a ssd, should take a couple of seconds. (10 -12 sec)
Primo Ramdisk only saves data that were changed since last saving. So if the ramdisk contents are not changed, no data will be updated. You may copy some new files to the ramdisk and then do the saving again to check if the image file works or not. Please also note that the image file is locked by the ramdisk, so its "modified date" won't be updated during the session. It is only updated after you restart the computer.
Primo Ramdisk | PrimoCache
Romex Software Support
MrZebulon
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Dec 25, 2016 8:33 am

Re: Failed writing to image file

Post by MrZebulon »

On my ramdisk there is my FireFoy Profile, which is always in use. And even if there is only one Bit new, the file must get an new timestamp. But it doesn't.
User avatar
Support
Support Team
Support Team
Posts: 3014
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2008 2:42 am

Re: Failed writing to image file

Post by Support »

As I said before, an image file being used is locked by Primo Ramdisk and doesn't show the latest timestamp. This is by design.
Primo Ramdisk | PrimoCache
Romex Software Support
Post Reply