View L2 Cache content

Suggestions around PrimoCache
Post Reply
AndecIunson
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2018 9:10 am

View L2 Cache content

Post by AndecIunson »

Hi.. it would be nice to be able to view what data is cached in the L2 cache.
User avatar
Jaga
Level SS
Level SS
Posts: 552
Joined: Sat Jan 25, 2014 1:11 am

Re: View L2 Cache content

Post by Jaga »

It wouldn't be very useful, since Primocache works at the block level, not the file/folder level. You'd never get a list of meaningful information - even a list of disk sectors might not help, since the block size in Primocache can be different than disk sector size.
FalkH
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2016 9:27 am

To bad

Post by FalkH »

Block level support is good, since it will only cache used blocks instead of whole files. On the downside it is also not possible to exclude some filetypes or folder from caching for the same reason as there is no cache content viewer?

How will Primocache determine the ranking which block will be transfered to cache? Maybe it's possible to give some filetypes an negative ranking?
User avatar
Support
Support Team
Support Team
Posts: 2812
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2008 2:42 am

Re: View L2 Cache content

Post by Support »

PrimoCache determine the ranking based on block usage frequency, that is how often a block was accessed.
We also consider to support file-level ranking in the future.
Primo Ramdisk | PrimoCache
Romex Software Support
nKlar
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Sep 22, 2019 3:09 pm

Re: View L2 Cache content

Post by nKlar »

support wrote:
Mon Jul 23, 2018 8:51 am
PrimoCache determine the ranking based on block usage frequency, that is how often a block was accessed.
We also consider to support file-level ranking in the future.
Hello!
Is there any news about this feature?
User avatar
Support
Support Team
Support Team
Posts: 2812
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2008 2:42 am

Re: View L2 Cache content

Post by Support »

Sorry, this is still under development.
Primo Ramdisk | PrimoCache
Romex Software Support
Post Reply