Cannot create L1 great than 1.5 Gb on 32 Gb system then BSOD

FAQ, getting help, user experience about PrimoCache
RobF99
Level 8
Level 8

Cannot create L1 great than 1.5 Gb on 32 Gb system then BSOD

Post by RobF99 »

Hello

I have been using the program for several years. Previously it worked fine and I could set up large L1 caches. For the past 2 years I have been unable to create an L1 cache greater than about 1.5 Gb. This is the error.

PrimoCache
---------------------------
Failed to start cache!

This is usually caused by insufficient system resources. You may choose a larger value for the Block Size and then try again.
---------------------------

The system has about 29 Gb available when I try this. THEN in a few seconds I get a BSOD with this error (I think a good clue is this).... IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL.

I have tried larger block sizes but still always get the error. I am using 3.0.0 BUT it also happens in V2 versions.

If I setup caches with 512 Mb L1 (which I can) if I go in later and try to increase it to say 4096 Mb it accepts the entry BUT the Level-1 Cache shows as ZERO when I go back into the program. So while it doesn't give BSOD in this situation it also doesn't allow the program to use the amount of entered memory.

Attached are some images - one is system log (which doesn't show much) and the other is MSDN explanation and I think this is how the error is occurring.
PrimocacheSystemLOG.JPG
PrimocacheSystemLOG.JPG (244.81 KiB) Viewed 3544 times
BSOD.JPG
BSOD.JPG (31.05 KiB) Viewed 3544 times
Could it be a setting in BIOS?

Thanks for the help you can give on this.
Support
Support Team
Support Team

Re: Cannot create L1 great than 1.5 Gb on 32 Gb system then BSOD

Post by Support »

Could you find a minidump file for the bsod? See
https://www.romexsoftware.com/en-us/kno ... -file.html

And please also send us ([email protected]) a screenshot of the configuration dialog when you create a new cache task.
Thanks.
RobF99
Level 8
Level 8