RamDisk or PrimoCache for Photo Editing Rig?

FAQ, getting help, user experience about Primo Ramdisk
JANSHIM
Level 2
Level 2

RamDisk or PrimoCache for Photo Editing Rig?

Post by JANSHIM »

Hello. I'm a professional photographer working with the following hardware:

ASUS Republic of Gamers Maximus V GENE, Intel Core i7-3770K @ 4.6GHz
16GB 1866-MHz RAM, nVidia GeForce 2GB GTX660 Graphics
SSD #1: Crucial m4 128GB, SSD #2: Crucial m4 256GB
Windows 7 64-bit Home Premium
Paging File: 1024MB on C: and 1024MB on D:

I recently installed PrimoCache (setting in screenshot attached) and saw my SSD performance numbers through the roof! While benchmark numbers are truly impressive and system appears generally snappier, I was wondering if perhaps I should be running Primo RamDisk instead for purpose of photo editing (machine not used for video rendering). I work with images out of Canon EOS 5D Mark III 22 megapixels, JPEGs average 5MB each editing using Corel PaintShop Pro X3 (32-bit) and X6 (64-bit). Photo editing is where I want things to speed up — executing a Photoshop Plugin is where things slow down (maybe the plugins aren't optimised for speed?).

I look forward to any help you can offer.
Attachments
PrimoCache Setting
PrimoCache Setting
2014-04-02_082758.jpg (120.58 KiB) Viewed 8878 times
SSD Benchmark with PrimoCache
SSD Benchmark with PrimoCache
as-ssd-bench M4-CT128 M4SSD1 1.4.2014 9-02-45 AM.png (42.74 KiB) Viewed 8878 times
CrypEd
Level 6
Level 6

Re: RamDisk or PrimoCache for Photo Editing Rig?

Post by CrypEd »

PrimoCache is good.. not to mean anything else, but:

The problem with synthetically-benchmarking "reads" is that no matter this data is already compressed (not just all 0 or all 1) it RE-RUNS the benches (five times) with the same data .... then it shows the highest average (logarythmic) result. This does NOT REFLECT that your first read sucked wither way with cache! xD