Help with initial Cache setup of System wide Drives

FAQ, getting help, user experience about PrimoCache
dja2k
Level 1
Level 1

Help with initial Cache setup of System wide Drives

Post by dja2k »

Hi I am new to PrimoCache though I did install it yesterday and played around with it. I am getting to know its basic setup, but benchmarking does show high numbers though realtime transfer rates are lower than normal. I have 2-128GB Samsung 840 Pro SSD's (1 for Windows 8.1 and another to hold my Virtual Machines). Documents and other storage are done on 2-3TB Western Digital Red HDD's. What is the appropriate setup on PrimoCache for theses?

I just setup PrimoCache for SSD's as 4096MB\4k and 1024MB\64K for HDD's. The problem is that the WD Red transfers are lower than without PrimoCache enabled using standard Windows File Transfer. Should I be using some other File Transfer Method? The same goes for the SSD's as benchmarking is off the roof, but realtime transfer rate isn't as high as it should be also using Windows File Transfer.

Any help would be appreciated, thanks!

dja2k
InquiringMind
Level SS
Level SS

Re: Help with initial Cache setup of System wide Drives

Post by InquiringMind »

Welcome to the forums Dja2K,

I assume you are talking about L1 (RAM) cache when you mention using 4096MB and 1024MB rather than L2 (SSD). If you use your HDDs heavily, then allocating more RAM to their L1 caches and experimenting with the block size would be a good move. A 4KB block size is too small and may be the cause of your bottleneck - 64KB blocksize for both SSD's and HDD's would likely offer better performance.

If you do a lot of file copying then Raymond.cc's 15 Free File Copy Tools Tested for the Fastest Transfer Speeds may be of use.
dja2k
Level 1
Level 1

Post by dja2k »

Thanks and I will do more testing. By the way I tested with Teracopy before and it had the same results as I had seen, lower transfer rates with PrimoCache enabled.

dja2k
robertcollier4
Level 3
Level 3