Page 3 of 3

Re: [Tool] Automatic pause and resume for backup-software

Posted: Tue Jul 16, 2019 8:37 pm
by rutra80
Remember kids: don't pause your cache during backups - switch them to Write Only strategy instead 8-)

Re: [Tool] Automatic pause and resume for backup-software

Posted: Wed Jul 17, 2019 6:19 am
by tyraelmetanamede
That's a good idea!

@rutra80: do you have any idea how to change the strategy via CLI?

I fiddled around a little but could not find the solution. If i can change the strategy via CLI, then i can alter the backup-detection program to do that automatically.

Re: [Tool] Automatic pause and resume for backup-software

Posted: Fri Jul 19, 2019 4:10 am
by support
@tyraelmetanamede, since v3.0, the strategy is no longer controlled by an explicit parameter. It is controlled by the read and write cache space in L1 and L2 cache. If only read space (100% read) is set in L1 and L2, then the whole strategy is Read-Only. If only write space (100% write) is set in L1 and L2, then the whole strategy is write-only.

Re: [Tool] Automatic pause and resume for backup-software

Posted: Mon Jul 29, 2019 10:14 am
by sabinekonya
I am thinking to use the tool but I stoped to use the tool because I remember situation that my computer is slow and Disk Queque length is 50 with Primo cache.

*I copy a 32GB of file when I make a 14 GB cache on SSD.
*I backup a entir disk that it is 1TB when I make a 14 GB cache on SSD.

If @tyraelmetanamede or support can do,Please stop primocahe when it read huge file or huge amount sequentially

Re: [Tool] Automatic pause and resume for backup-software

Posted: Tue Jul 30, 2019 9:24 pm
by tyraelmetanamede
@sabinekonya:

what you are looking for is called "sequential_cutoff" (at least it is called that way for bcache - i asked about that in a separate thread). Currently primocache does not support that feature yet, i also look forward to the day it may get implemented :-)