Win7 Hang while L2 filling up.

Found a bug? Report here
qweqwe321
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2021 12:47 pm

Re: Win7 Hang while L2 filling up.

Post by qweqwe321 »

And today I can't repeat test condition - it start to work flawless.
CrystalDiskMark 32GB test passed for 10 times.
How I would heroically fight the challenge if it start to work without bugs :)

It's seem to be normal for programs now-days to act like virus.
Marcium Reflect - create 3 services, some task in scheduler, automatically silently reenable and reinstall it's useless services then I try to disable/delete them. As some kind of virus it keeps 2 programs in ram - then I kill 1 process it's been relaunched by another (and so on).
InquiringMind
Level SS
Level SS
Posts: 404
Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2010 11:10 pm

Re: Win7 Hang while L2 filling up.

Post by InquiringMind »

I'd second Jaga on Macrium - it's legitimate and widely used. If you want a "lean and clean" disk imaging utility, then I would suggest you take a look at Drive Snapshot - it installs no services, just a driver (and that only temporarily). It is commercial, but the trial download will provide 30-day backup and unlimited restore functionality. It also doesn't fill PrimoCache with backup data, unlike some other software.

Looking at your hardware Qweqwe321, the one thing that sticks out is that you are using 2 different types (and likely different specs) of RAM which could result in problems for memory intensive applications (like PrimoCache). You may wish to run a memory test benchmark to verify this - something like Memtest86+ or the "Large" Torture Test option of Prime95 (the latter also acts as a good test of your CPU and cooling).

PrimoCache itself works via a driver - rxfcv.sys (its predecessor - FancyCache - did run as a service). This shouldn't conflict with any widely used chipset - Windows would almost certainly have reported a driver name if it had.

(edit: Changed link to point to the GPLed Memtest86+ rather than the original, and now commercial, Memtest86 - either should do the job but the commercial version free download seems to be more feature-restricted. Apologies for any confusion).
Last edited by InquiringMind on Mon Jan 11, 2021 11:09 am, edited 3 times in total.
User avatar
Jaga
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 602
Joined: Sat Jan 25, 2014 1:11 am

Re: Win7 Hang while L2 filling up.

Post by Jaga »

InquiringMind wrote:
Sun Jan 10, 2021 11:39 am
Looking at your hardware Qweqwe321, the one thing that sticks out is that you are using 2 different types (and likely different specs) of RAM which could result in problems for memory intensive applications (like PrimoCache). You may wish to run a memory test benchmark to verify this - something like Memtest86 or the "Large" Torture Test option of Prime95 (the latter also acts as a good test of your CPU and cooling).
I didn't read that deep, it's a good catch and point. Usually motherboards adjust RAM timing when they see this, but not always. And sometimes when RAM doesn't run at one of it's native speeds, it isn't happy.

You may want to do just what InquiringMind suggests - test the RAM for both benchmarking and reliability. And not the quick type of tests either - the ones that run overnight and use different patterns on the RAM.
User avatar
Support
Support Team
Support Team
Posts: 2922
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2008 2:42 am

Re: Win7 Hang while L2 filling up.

Post by Support »

I agree with InquiringMind. Do a memtest first because bsod 0x00000013 appears very infrequently.
Primo Ramdisk | PrimoCache
Romex Software Support
qweqwe321
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2021 12:47 pm

Re: Win7 Hang while L2 filling up.

Post by qweqwe321 »

10 minutes after my last post - I start to get same BSOD again. Just needed to slightly change test condition - instead of launching CrystalDiskMark - I copy 35 GB RAR archive from SDD to RAID0.

I tested with default BIOS settings with only one 8 GB Nanya memory stick in slot A2 - BSOD was still there.

OFFTOPIC
I prefer TESTMEM 0.12 with 1usmus preset.
Since I use this test for about 2 year I start to knowledge which memory test error is related to which RAM settings.

Memory testing is work by running some CPU intensive program, moving big amount of data (too exceed L3 CPU cache size). Thus, it's only test CPU-RAM path.

I have some interesting time catching bugs - then video driver got crashed after running Crysis3. TESTMEM show no error. But in the end it was related to - too low tRRDS; tRRDL; tWTRS; tWTRL timings. This was System RAM-> PCI-e -> GPU RAM path.

So any components which use DMA - can get affected by RAM if they use RAM heavy enough.



Yesterday I test condition - then all SATA cable's of RAID0 HDD are connected to PCIe extension card. Instead of BSOD at writing - I get error what RAID get disconnected and immediately Reconnected (5-10 seconds after), with same sound which Windows use when you insert/unplug USB flash drive.

Later, while write testing each disk separately with Victoria 5.28 - I reveal (or rather kill half dead) Maxtor500 GB HDD - one of it 2 heads is dying (NoramRead-SlowRead-NormalRead-SlowRead...).

So for now I see situation like this (BlackBox analyze):
1. One of RAID0 disk get too busy with doing self-test/smart update/remapping sector... and don't response it time
2. Windows detect it as hardware failure
3. If all SATA cable's connected to same PCI-e сard - RAID0 gets disconnected.
4. When faulty HDD done with remapping - it remove busy status and RAID0 gets reconnected
5. When SATA cable's connected to different hardware - PCIe card and motherboard, things get really messy (maybe conflicting drivers, or wrong error handling). And instead of disconnecting RAID - windows wait for some time 30-180 seconds and give BSOD. This waiting look similar for me - then you kill wrong svchost.exe - Windows will continue to work normally but will give you a message what it will reboot after 1 min.

And it's all started from my decision to get extra 16GB RAM.
I has removed MaxtorHDD 500GB, and my RAID0 now consist of 7 HDD.
No BSOD for now in CDM and copy big file from SSD to RAID. I will continue testing it for a while...
Attachments
TESTMEM.png
TESTMEM.png (52.49 KiB) Viewed 43 times
ME_doingRAMoverclock.png
ME_doingRAMoverclock.png (217.24 KiB) Viewed 43 times
Raid0x7HDD.png
Raid0x7HDD.png (64.88 KiB) Viewed 43 times
InquiringMind
Level SS
Level SS
Posts: 404
Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2010 11:10 pm

Re: Win7 Hang while L2 filling up.

Post by InquiringMind »

qweqwe321 wrote:
Mon Jan 11, 2021 3:55 pm
...But in the end it was related to - too low tRRDS; tRRDL; tWTRS; tWTRL timings...
If you are making amendments to your UEFI/BIOS for these settings without knowing exactly what you are doing, then you are very likely to encounter memory problems whatever RAM you use. I would suggest you use a standard memory profile, test that heavily and only start playing with these options (and the RAM voltage settings - you can expect to have to increase voltage to get away with tighter timings) once you have a several hour (and preferably more) successful run on a memory test.
qweqwe321 wrote:
Mon Jan 11, 2021 3:55 pm
Yesterday I test condition - then all SATA cable's of RAID0 HDD are connected to PCIe extension card. Instead of BSOD at writing - I get error what RAID get disconnected and immediately Reconnected...
If memory is unreliable, then it can show up as problems elsewhere. You don't say if you are overclocking, but if you are - reverse those settings (in particular, *do not* overclock the PCI-E bus) and see if that fixes the problem. If it does, then you know that your overclocking is the problem.
Post Reply