I need help Topic is solved

FAQ, getting help, user experience about PrimoCache
Guestify
Level 3
Level 3

I need help

Post by Guestify »

Hello!
I'm new to primocache and I wanted to ask how do I free my cache up because I put up 32GB of L-2 cache and it's full within an hour (without me playing any heavy game) which is crazy (Read&Write)
Should I just increase the capacity and if I do wouldn't it just get full again or should I use Free Cache On Written?
Thanks for your help!

Edit:Will it also hurt my SSD lifespan because I heard SSDs die easily when you write and read constantly
Support
Support Team
Support Team

Re: I need help

Post by Support »

By default, L2 cache is set to 100% read only and only caches read-data in order not to wear SSD too much. If you use L2 cache to speed up writing with defer-write, there might be much write wear on L2 SSD devices and may reduce the SSD lifespan.
Support
Support Team
Support Team

Post by Support »

There is no need to free up cache. PrimoCache will automatically discard old cached data and cache new data.
Guestify
Level 3
Level 3

Post by Guestify »

Support wrote: Wed Jul 29, 2020 10:50 am By default, L2 cache is set to 100% read only and only caches read-data in order not to wear SSD too much. If you use L2 cache to speed up writing with defer-write, there might be much write wear on L2 SSD devices and may reduce the SSD lifespan.
So should I turn off deferred write and put it to 100% read or just turn it into read only
and will it hurt my game loading time if i turn off writing
Thanks for your answer btw
Guestify
Level 3
Level 3

Post by Guestify »

Support wrote: Wed Jul 29, 2020 10:51 am There is no need to free up cache. PrimoCache will automatically discard old cached data and cache new data.
When does it do that?
Because I've waited about 30/20 minutes and it only discarded about 10MBs of cache
Guestify
Level 3
Level 3

Post by Guestify »

bump
Support
Support Team
Support Team

Post by Support »