Suggested Server settings

FAQ, getting help, user experience about PrimoCache
steve841
Level 1
Level 1

Suggested Server settings

Post by steve841 »

Im new to Primocache. I purchased a server and listened to the rep who sold me on a RAID card that did not support caching. I know, my fault for not researching.

So, slow writes are a problem.

My setup is Windows Server 2016 Essentials running on a dual processor with 32gb of RAM and 4 2TB mechanical HDDs in RAID 10.

Looking to hear from experienced folks on suggested settings.

Currently have:
OS managed memory: 12928mb
Block size: 64kb
Defer write: 20s
L2 Cache on a 264gb USB set to MAX
No Invisible memory.
Support
Support Team
Support Team

Re: Suggested Server settings

Post by Support »

Defer-Write will greatly improve write performance. However, a power outage or system failure (crash/freeze) might result in data loss or corruption because in such scenarios the cache has no chance to write data back to the disk. So it is recommended that you may only enable Defer-Write on volumes where temporary, unimportant or reproducible data is to be stored.

If you have to enable Defer-Write, you may use a small latency like 10 seconds or smaller. Smaller latency suggests that less amount of deferred write-data is in the cache which might get loss on a failure.

On a server system, it is not recommended using a USB drive as level-2 cache. SATA/NVMe interface is much better than the USB interface.
Jaga
Contributor
Contributor

Post by Jaga »

support wrote: Mon Dec 23, 2019 4:04 amSo it is recommended that you may only enable Defer-Write on volumes where temporary, unimportant or reproducible data is to be stored.
Or, when using a UPS to protect the system in question, so you can achieve graceful shutdowns/hibernations. That's what I do, and I haven't had a problem with the deferred write cache in a very long time.
steve841
Level 1
Level 1

Post by steve841 »

Jaga wrote: Tue Dec 24, 2019 5:11 am