L2 flush after dirty shutdown?

FAQ, getting help, user experience about PrimoCache
Post Reply
richardm
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Apr 05, 2019 3:52 pm

L2 flush after dirty shutdown?

Post by richardm »

If the system loses power or crashes, will Primocache flush dirty L2 content on the next restart? If not, what does it do with these blocks?

User avatar
Jaga
Posts: 483
Joined: Sat Jan 25, 2014 1:11 am

Re: L2 flush after dirty shutdown?

Post by Jaga »

It generally flushes the entire L2, since it doesn't know what is good and what is bad.

richardm
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Apr 05, 2019 3:52 pm

Re: L2 flush after dirty shutdown?

Post by richardm »

I meant to type "will Primocache commit dirty pages to disk" or does it discard them? I've been playing with a trial of Intel CAS and I've confirmed that it will urgently commit dirty pages to disk when the machine comes back online.

User avatar
support
Posts: 2699
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2008 2:42 am

Re: L2 flush after dirty shutdown?

Post by support »

@richardm, so far PrimoCache no. We are working to support this.
Primo Ramdisk | PrimoCache
Romex Software Support

Post Reply