Page 1 of 1

Does an SSD connect to an existing HDD with files will delete the files?

Posted: Thu Apr 11, 2019 9:03 am
by truejaz
Hello everyone I have a question about the software

I have a 5TB HDD on which I have installed games. About 3TB is full and I want to plug SSD to improve performance
If being specific then I intend to buy a Samsung 970 EVO plus NVMe M.2 500GB SSD
Now I need to know if performing the caching will erase the existing HDD files?

Thanks to everyone who can answer and help me, I also appreciate tips that are good to know for newcomers

Re: Does an SSD connect to an existing HDD with files will delete the files?

Posted: Thu Apr 11, 2019 9:33 am
by cichy45
No, primocache will have a copy of this data on SSD and will do nothing to your original data on HDD.

Re: Does an SSD connect to an existing HDD with files will delete the files?

Posted: Thu Apr 11, 2019 12:40 pm
by truejaz
cichy45 wrote:
Thu Apr 11, 2019 9:33 am
No, primocache will have a copy of this data on SSD and will do nothing to your original data on HDD.
Okay so if I understand correctly the first use does not require formatting the HDD right?

Re: Does an SSD connect to an existing HDD with files will delete the files?

Posted: Thu Apr 11, 2019 1:47 pm
by cichy45
Yes, you do not have to do anything to your HDD. You just setup your new SSD as a cache for HDD as in this guide

1. Setup your SSD as L2 cache - https://www.romexsoftware.com/en-us/pri ... orage.html
2. Use L2 as cache for HDD https://www.romexsoftware.com/en-us/pri ... cache.html

Re: Does an SSD connect to an existing HDD with files will delete the files?

Posted: Thu Apr 11, 2019 2:19 pm
by truejaz
Thank you for the reply and guides it helps me a lot