Page 1 of 1

PrimoCache 3.0.9 - Refs - Data Integrity Scan

Posted: Fri Feb 22, 2019 6:08 pm
by dtsiapas
Hello, I have an issue to address concerning refs and PrimoCache.

I have a refs volume set up with file integrity streams enabled on storage spaces.
File integrity streams and metadata integrity streams are supposed to be checked for actual integrity on refs volumes via a task in the task scheduler named “Data Integrity Scan”

Image


If I trigger a Data Integrity Scan and the refs volume is setup in PrimoCache for read or write caching I get the following two errors in the Event Viewer


Error 57
Volume metadata scrub operation failed.
Volume name: Y:
Metadata reference: 0x204
Range offset: 0x0
Range length (in bytes): 0x0
Bytes repaired: 0x0
Bytes not repaired: 0x3000

Error 24
Files were skipped during the volume scan.
Files skipped: 3
Volume name: Y:\ (\??\Volume{a22c0f2e-30fb-11e9-bf16-90e6ba776a76}\)
First skipped file name: Y:
HResult: The specified copy of the requested data could not be read.
Status: The specified copy of the requested data could not be read.
(Note:The number of files skipped varies depending on the files that are on the volume)


Image

However, if the refs volume is not set up in PrimoCache for read/write caching then Data Integrity Scan completes its duty successfully and the Event Viewer reports, hopefully, a success message.

Volume scan completed on Y:\ (\??\Volume{a22c0f2e-30fb-11e9-bf16-90e6ba776a76}\)
Bytes repaired: 0x0
Bytes not repaired: 0x0
HResult: The operation completed successfully.

Image


Please note that I have tested this issue on three pcs and the results are consistent.

Re: PrimoCache 3.0.9 - Refs - Data Integrity Scan

Posted: Sat Feb 23, 2019 9:21 am
by dtsiapas
I guess this is more of a bug, so is there any chance that it will be addressed in a future update?

Re: PrimoCache 3.0.9 - Refs - Data Integrity Scan

Posted: Wed Feb 27, 2019 2:38 am
by support
dtsiapas, thank you very much for your detailed bug report! We'll check this.
PS. could you please upload a screenshot of your PrimoCache main dialog which shows cache configuration for our reference? And what's your OS? Thanks.

Re: PrimoCache 3.0.9 - Refs - Data Integrity Scan

Posted: Wed Feb 27, 2019 2:04 pm
by dtsiapas
Thank you for your response!

The latest tests were done on Windows 10 v1809 (Build 17763.316) [tested on three pcs]
Note that I had stumbled upon this issue in the Event Viewer in previous versions of windows 10 but I hadn't realized what was causing it.

Concerning my Pricmocache settings i tried the following setups:
1)Level1-Cache, with Defer-Write
2)Level1-Cache plus Level-2 Cache, with Defer-Write
3)Level1-Cache, with no Defer-Write

In all three configurations of primocache I noticed the same errors in the Event Viewer.

My guess was that the defer-write was causing the problem and as a last resort I tried the 3rd setup (no defer-write) and to my surprise I was still getting the problem with the Data Integrity Scan.

Hope this provides a bit more clarification.

Re: PrimoCache 3.0.9 - Refs - Data Integrity Scan

Posted: Thu Feb 28, 2019 3:41 am
by support
dtsiapas, thank you again! We'll check this issue soon!

Re: PrimoCache 3.0.9 - Refs - Data Integrity Scan

Posted: Fri Apr 12, 2019 4:39 pm
by dtsiapas
support wrote:
Thu Feb 28, 2019 3:41 am
dtsiapas, thank you again! We'll check this issue soon!
Hi, is there any update on this issue?

Re: PrimoCache 3.0.9 - Refs - Data Integrity Scan

Posted: Thu Apr 18, 2019 5:34 am
by support
I'm sorry that we're still checking this issue. I hope we'll get a result in this month.

Re: PrimoCache 3.0.9 - Refs - Data Integrity Scan

Posted: Thu Apr 18, 2019 9:39 am
by dtsiapas
support wrote:
Thu Apr 18, 2019 5:34 am
I'm sorry that we're still checking this issue. I hope we'll get a result in this month.
Thank you! Keep up the good work!

Re: PrimoCache 3.0.9 - Refs - Data Integrity Scan

Posted: Wed Apr 01, 2020 6:03 am
by wimoy
I am interesting in using PrimoCache. I am using a tiered ReFS storage space with integrity streams enabled. Is this a supported configuration?

Re: PrimoCache 3.0.9 - Refs - Data Integrity Scan

Posted: Tue Apr 07, 2020 8:41 am
by support
I'm sorry for the late reply. We find that this issue might be related to 4Kn drives. We are working to support 4Kn drives now.