PrimoCache vs SuperCache 4K file Read caching?

FAQ, getting help, user experience about PrimoCache
NessPJ
Level 1
Level 1

PrimoCache vs SuperCache 4K file Read caching?

Post by NessPJ »

Hey guys,

I recently started my trial with your PrimoCache software. So far i think the software looks good and it seems to be working very nice.
I see a lot of people on these forums using Crystaldiskmark for posting their results. I always use AS SSD for benchmarking as it seems to give more accurate results as to what is happening (where CDM tends to color most numbers much more positive...).

I have some past experience with using SuperCache as a RAM caching tool, and i noticed that my 4K random read speeds seem to be much much lower then when i was using SuperCache before.
With SuperCache i was hitting around 300 MB/sec random 4K read speeds. While, with PrimoCache i seem to be around 34 MB/sec random 4K read speeds at most!
Any idea where this could relate too?
I have been using the same type of Cache specs on both pieces of software: 2048MB or 4096MB Cache size. 4K stripe size.

Here's some information of the hardware i am using:
Intel DZ87KLT-75K
Intel Core i7 Hasswell 4770K
2 x 4GB G.Skill RipjawsX 1600MHz DDR3
4 x Sandisk Extreme II 120GB SSD's in RAID0.

Any idea, why PrimoCache seems to be hitting significantly lower 4K Read speeds?
(I ask, because these are really the ones that matter).

Thanks in advance. :)
Support
Support Team
Support Team

Re: PrimoCache vs SuperCache 4K file Read caching?

Post by Support »

Do you use same test data size? Your PrimoCache settings? Thanks.
NessPJ
Level 1
Level 1

Post by NessPJ »

Hi there,

Yes, the same test data size's are always used to ensure an objective test.

SuperCache 5 (read-only mode):
4K random read = 308 MB/s
4K random write = 79 MB/s

PrimoCache (read-only mode):
4K random read = 34 MB/s
4K random write = 58 MB/s
CrypEd
Level 6
Level 6

Post by CrypEd »