L2 Cache on NVME boot drive Topic is solved

FAQ, getting help, user experience about PrimoCache
Post Reply
balrog
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon May 03, 2021 7:33 pm

L2 Cache on NVME boot drive

Post by balrog »

Hi All,
Debating if it's worthwhile to have L2 Cache on a 2nd NVME Drive for the NVME boot drive where both are fast. Makes sense enabling L2 if your boot drive is SATA SSD and L2 cache is on NVME drive for speedups.

Question, What are the use case that it makes sense? Thanks in advance.
User avatar
Support
Support Team
Support Team
Posts: 3201
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2008 2:42 am

Re: L2 Cache on NVME boot drive

Post by Support »

balrog wrote: Tue Jan 11, 2022 5:17 pm Debating if it's worthwhile to have L2 Cache on a 2nd NVME Drive for the NVME boot drive where both are fast.
No, it's not a good idea. Speed: Native SSD > L2 SSD (used as L2). But you can use RAM (L1) to speed up a nvme ssd.
balrog
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon May 03, 2021 7:33 pm

Re: L2 Cache on NVME boot drive

Post by balrog »

Thank you sir! that's what i thought. I'm doing L1 from the very beginning.
Post Reply