[2020-12-31] PrimoCache 4.0.1 released!

First hand news related to PrimoCache
RobF99
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 63
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2014 5:14 am

Re: [2020-12-31] PrimoCache 4.0.1 released!

Post by RobF99 »

I installed this on two machines that were running 4.0.0 alpha. On the Windows 7 64 the installation was perfect. This has major problems with Vista 32 Business 32 and the PC won't start up after installation and goes directly into startup repair and then if you select that option it tries for 1 second but goes back to startup repair and the system will not start. This happened twice. The first time I did a system repair from the original Windows CD and it fixed the problem (I believe it just did a restore during the checking for errors stage). Second time I realized I could boot into Safe Mode so I figured it was the driver. I uninstalled while in safe mode and the system was able to boot up normally.

I was able to reinstall 4.0.0 and it works fine.

So the problem is with this build and Vista 32.

The problem is now that I uninstalled it reverted back to a 60 day trial. I have ordered multiple licenses over the years and I am not sure which one applies to this machine. If I send screenshot to support by e-mail (I was wise and took a screenshot of license screen before upgrade :D ) will they be able to give me user and license information for that specific machine so I can reactivate?

Thanks
User avatar
Support
Support Team
Support Team
Posts: 2922
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2008 2:42 am

Re: [2020-12-31] PrimoCache 4.0.1 released!

Post by Support »

@RobF99, thank you very much for your feedback!
Regarding the license issue, yes, please send the screenshot to orders@romexsoftware.com or support@romexsoftware.com. Thanks.
Primo Ramdisk | PrimoCache
Romex Software Support
geneo
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Oct 31, 2015 5:19 pm

Re: [2020-12-31] PrimoCache 4.0.1 released!

Post by geneo »

I just tried to do the latest Windows 10 cumulative update. (I am on 20H2). When the computer rebooted to finish the install, I got a memory management related crash and the computer started in repair mode. It couldn't do the repair. Luckily I had made a image backup immediately prior to the update (others wont be so lucky). I restored windows, then downgraded Primocache to 3.2. I then performed the update again and it went without a hitch.

Perhaps you should consider pulling this update and contacting Microsoft.
Shoonay
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2020 6:53 am

Re: [2020-12-31] PrimoCache 4.0.1 released!

Post by Shoonay »

No problems here with 20H2 19042.746 and this version of PrimoCache.

With what should they contact M$? You didn't provide even a single error code that might have give a clue about what seems to be the problem.
geneo
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Oct 31, 2015 5:19 pm

Re: [2020-12-31] PrimoCache 4.0.1 released!

Post by geneo »

I had to restore from backup so there was unfortunately no crashdump.
Well the only change was a Microsoft update so, yeah, if the developers can reproduce it...

Do you save L1 cache across boots? I have 4 partitions on different drives I do this for.
geneo
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Oct 31, 2015 5:19 pm

Re: [2020-12-31] PrimoCache 4.0.1 released!

Post by geneo »

Well I decided to update to 4.01 again with the M$ cumulative update in place and reboot. No issue. So I dunno.
User avatar
Support
Support Team
Support Team
Posts: 2922
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2008 2:42 am

Re: [2020-12-31] PrimoCache 4.0.1 released!

Post by Support »

geneo wrote:
Tue Jan 12, 2021 10:40 pm
Do you save L1 cache across boots? I have 4 partitions on different drives I do this for.
Do you mean "Prefetch"?
Primo Ramdisk | PrimoCache
Romex Software Support
Shoonay
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2020 6:53 am

Re: [2020-12-31] PrimoCache 4.0.1 released!

Post by Shoonay »

Here's the changelog of the x.746 update: https://blogs.windows.com/windows-insid ... -channels/
Post Reply