[2018-12-30] PrimoCache 3.0.9 released!

First hand news related to PrimoCache
Benediction
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2016 4:15 pm

Re: [2018-12-30] PrimoCache 3.0.9 released!

Post by Benediction »

Will 3.1 be included with 3.0 license?

What if any version # change would require a new license?

User avatar
support
Posts: 2667
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2008 2:42 am

Re: [2018-12-30] PrimoCache 3.0.9 released!

Post by support »

Benediction wrote:
Mon Jan 07, 2019 4:30 pm
Will 3.1 be included with 3.0 license?
What if any version # change would require a new license?
PrimoCache licenses support free version updates. So you don't need a new license even there are major version changes.
Primo Ramdisk | PrimoCache
Romex Software Support

mannix
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2017 8:07 am

Re: [2018-12-30] PrimoCache 3.0.9 released!

Post by mannix »

Wonderful, I'm eager to see the performance improvements!

This is one of the best software I ever had the pleasure to buy.
I've been happy with it since the first moment and it's only been improving since then.
Can't say the same with most my other sw purchases, it's a rare gem.

Thanks again for making it possible!

thommyf
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2018 11:35 am

Re: [2018-12-30] PrimoCache 3.0.9 released!

Post by thommyf »

Hi Mannix , what are you using PrimoCache for ?
We'd like to use it for a hyper-v cluster. But CSV Volumes accessed over iscsi are not yet supported.

koen
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Oct 10, 2017 5:35 am

Re: [2018-12-30] PrimoCache 3.0.9 released!

Post by koen »

bit late to the party - but thanks for this release, it works great!

minhgi
Posts: 186
Joined: Tue May 17, 2011 3:52 pm

Re: [2018-12-30] PrimoCache 3.0.9 released!

Post by minhgi »

any news of feature to be include for the next release? just wondering. =)

User avatar
support
Posts: 2667
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2008 2:42 am

Re: [2018-12-30] PrimoCache 3.0.9 released!

Post by support »

@minhgi, sorry for the delay in response. The next release is planned to include following improvements:
1) Improve the L2 cache "sync and reset" issue.
2) New defer-writing policy option between L1 and L2 cache.
3) Improve L2 cache performance and efficiency.
4) Fix the issue that volumes are removed from the cache task after Windows 10 major upgrade.
5) Support cluster shared volumes
6) Other bug fixes and improvements.
Primo Ramdisk | PrimoCache
Romex Software Support

minhgi
Posts: 186
Joined: Tue May 17, 2011 3:52 pm

Re: [2018-12-30] PrimoCache 3.0.9 released!

Post by minhgi »

support wrote:
Mon Sep 16, 2019 4:19 pm
@minhgi, sorry for the delay in response. The next release is planned to include following improvements:
1) Improve the L2 cache "sync and reset" issue.
2) New defer-writing policy option between L1 and L2 cache.
3) Improve L2 cache performance and efficiency.
4) Fix the issue that volumes are removed from the cache task after Windows 10 major upgrade.
5) Support cluster shared volumes
6) Other bug fixes and improvements.
Hi support..

The features list is more than what I expected for the next release. Worth waiting and continue on using my harddrive. I'm sure others will be happy too. Lol. Probably this will be version 4.

Thanks
Minhgi

xrstokes
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2018 12:30 pm

Re: [2018-12-30] PrimoCache 3.0.9 released!

Post by xrstokes »

I have used this at home for ages but seriously want to try it at work to tier our old storage. If I am able too defer write to an ssd only. Would it be possible to survive a power out without loosing the writes? You add that feature and you can ask $500 plus. Our vm pool runs fine until someone pushes a large write and buggers the whole thing.

User avatar
support
Posts: 2667
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2008 2:42 am

Re: [2018-12-30] PrimoCache 3.0.9 released!

Post by support »

xrstokes wrote:
Tue Sep 24, 2019 4:14 am
Would it be possible to survive a power out without loosing the writes?
It's a fantastic feature and will extend the usage into many fields. As you said, it's worth $500+ ;)
However, it is also quite difficult to implement this feature meanwhile keeping the cache efficient and effective. Unfortunately, so far PrimoCache can't.
Primo Ramdisk | PrimoCache
Romex Software Support

Post Reply