Regression on v4.0.1 compared to v3.2.0 for "wrong 4Kn HDD detection"

Found a bug? Report here
Post Reply
dmist
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2021 9:39 am

Regression on v4.0.1 compared to v3.2.0 for "wrong 4Kn HDD detection"

Post by dmist »

Hi,

I have a REFS Storage Spaces volume on Win 10 workstation, based on a mirror of 2x 4To WD Red NAS (type EFRX, CMR) drives.

I use a mirror of 2x SSD (Micron MX500) as a L2 cache.

On v3.2.0, no problem, everything works as expected, whatever the settings.

On v4.0.1, I can't create the cache because of error message "4Kn disks not supported".

However there was no difference on my hardware and Storage Spaces setup.

So this is a regression, and I need it fixed in order to upgrade Primocache to v4.0.1

Thanks & regards !
janusz521
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2020 6:11 pm

Re: Regression on v4.0.1 compared to v3.2.0 for "wrong 4Kn HDD detection"

Post by janusz521 »

It was mentioned in the initial announcement that the drives 4Kn are not supported in release 4.0.1. The support is expected to come in a future version. From my experience, you can set L1 cache for a 4Kn drive with PC 3.2.0 but you cannot use such a drive for L2 cache for any released version of PC. Hopefully, it will be changed in the near future.
dmist
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2021 9:39 am

Re: Regression on v4.0.1 compared to v3.2.0 for "wrong 4Kn HDD detection"

Post by dmist »

janusz521 wrote:
Wed Jan 13, 2021 11:09 am
It was mentioned in the initial announcement that the drives 4Kn are not supported in release 4.0.1. The support is expected to come in a future version. From my experience, you can set L1 cache for a 4Kn drive with PC 3.2.0 but you cannot use such a drive for L2 cache for any released version of PC. Hopefully, it will be changed in the near future.
Hi, thanks for your comment, but the problems are:
- WD Red Nas are NOT 4Kn drives but 512e (==> false positive error)
- v3.2.0 was Ok with these drives, v4.0.1 is not, this is a regression

That is why these are bugs.
User avatar
Support
Support Team
Support Team
Posts: 2922
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2008 2:42 am

Re: Regression on v4.0.1 compared to v3.2.0 for "wrong 4Kn HDD detection"

Post by Support »

@dmist, Your Storage Spaces volume is a 4Kn volume. You may verify it by the command "fsutil fsinfo sectorInfo X:" where X is your Storage Spaces volume.
v3.x or prior versions doesn't check if a drive is a 4Kn volume or not, and have bugs. We will issue a new version in this month.
Thanks.
Primo Ramdisk | PrimoCache
Romex Software Support
janusz521
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2020 6:11 pm

Re: Regression on v4.0.1 compared to v3.2.0 for "wrong 4Kn HDD detection"

Post by janusz521 »

Support wrote:
Thu Jan 14, 2021 10:24 am
v3.x or prior versions doesn't check if a drive is a 4Kn volume or not, and have bugs. We will issue a new version in this month.
Thanks.
Does it mean that a L1 cache for a 4Kn drive with v3.0.2 is buggy too?
User avatar
Support
Support Team
Support Team
Posts: 2922
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2008 2:42 am

Re: Regression on v4.0.1 compared to v3.2.0 for "wrong 4Kn HDD detection"

Post by Support »

janusz521 wrote:
Thu Jan 14, 2021 3:23 pm
Does it mean that a L1 cache for a 4Kn drive with v3.0.2 is buggy too?
Theoretically, it should be no problem.
Primo Ramdisk | PrimoCache
Romex Software Support
Post Reply