Page 1 of 1

Pagefile on hybrid disk

Posted: Wed Mar 11, 2020 7:33 am
by points
While it is possible to set a RAM-only Ramdisk as location for the pagefile it did not work with a hybrid disk.

Is that a known limitation? The idea was to use a hybrid disk as storage location for the page file so it will fill up RAM first and if it gets to big the disk.

Re: Pagefile on hybrid disk

Posted: Thu Mar 12, 2020 5:01 am
by support
It's a known limitation and prevented by the program. If set up the paging file on a hybrid disk, when it access the disk storage part, it may cause deadlock.

Re: Pagefile on hybrid disk

Posted: Thu Mar 12, 2020 6:46 am
by user4653453
when i create a ramdisk and set pagefile to that, it seems windows is looking for pagefile before the ramdisk is created on boot, cause i get the "windows created a temporary blabla because of a problem with pagefile when starting"

u dont get that?

Re: Pagefile on hybrid disk

Posted: Thu Mar 12, 2020 8:21 am
by points
user4653453 wrote:
Thu Mar 12, 2020 6:46 am
when i create a ramdisk and set pagefile to that, it seems windows is looking for pagefile before the ramdisk is created on boot, cause i get the "windows created a temporary blabla because of a problem with pagefile when starting"

u dont get that?
This is exactly what I am seeing.
support wrote:
Thu Mar 12, 2020 5:01 am
It's a known limitation and prevented by the program. If set up the paging file on a hybrid disk, when it access the disk storage part, it may cause deadlock.
That's a pity. I did not see that this specific limitation has been stated in the known issues list or anywhere else on your website. Are you working on resolving this limitation as I have just recently upgraded to the pro version only for this reason.
With a dynamic pagefile size enabled and initial size so small that it fits entirely into the RAM part of the hybrid disk on boot, shouldn't it be possible to get around a possible deadlock?

Re: Pagefile on hybrid disk

Posted: Thu Mar 12, 2020 9:03 am
by support
user4653453 wrote:
Thu Mar 12, 2020 6:46 am
when i create a ramdisk and set pagefile to that, it seems windows is looking for pagefile before the ramdisk is created on boot, cause i get the "windows created a temporary blabla because of a problem with pagefile when starting"

u dont get that?
Do you use the latest version?

Re: Pagefile on hybrid disk

Posted: Thu Mar 12, 2020 9:27 am
by support
points wrote:
Thu Mar 12, 2020 8:21 am
I did not see that this specific limitation has been stated in the known issues list or anywhere else on your website. Are you working on resolving this limitation as I have just recently upgraded to the pro version only for this reason.
I'm sorry for this. We will update the known issues list. This issue cannot be resolved according to the principle of paging files. We can refund your upgrade, please contact orders@romexsoftware.com.
points wrote:
Thu Mar 12, 2020 8:21 am
With a dynamic pagefile size enabled and initial size so small that it fits entirely into the RAM part of the hybrid disk on boot, shouldn't it be possible to get around a possible deadlock?
No, if paging file extends to the disk storage part, deadlock may happen. So Primo Ramdisk disables paging files on hybrid disks or file disks.