Optane alternative for AMD

FAQ, getting help, user experience about Primo Ramdisk
Post Reply
victortapp1
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2020 6:56 am

Optane alternative for AMD

Post by victortapp1 »

hope this is the right place to post this question here

I was looking Into Intel optane, but it doesn't work with AMD. I also looked into Store mi and that is discontinued. I have a trial of primo cache and primo Ramdisk and if I'm not mistaken it just creates a Ramdisk.

I want something like optane for my AMD machine. Please help.
User avatar
Support
Support Team
Support Team
Posts: 3091
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2008 2:42 am

Re: Optane alternative for AMD

Post by Support »

Just use PrimoCache and treat optane drive as a normal ssd for level-2 cache. Here are some links for your reference.
https://www.romexsoftware.com/en-us/pri ... cache.html
https://www.romexsoftware.com/en-us/pri ... cases.html
Primo Ramdisk | PrimoCache
Romex Software Support
victortapp1
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2020 6:56 am

Re: Optane alternative for AMD

Post by victortapp1 »

Support wrote: Mon Oct 19, 2020 4:09 am Just use PrimoCache and treat optane drive as a normal ssd for level-2 cache. Here are some links for your reference.
https://www.romexsoftware.com/en-us/pri ... cache.html
https://www.romexsoftware.com/en-us/pri ... cases.html
Thank you for your reply, I will definitely check them out
samlarsoonn
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2021 1:53 pm

Re: Optane alternative for AMD

Post by samlarsoonn »

Just use PrimoCache and treat optane drive as a normal ssd for level-2 cache. Here are some links for your reference.
https://www.romexsoftware.com/en-us/pri ... cache.html
https://www.romexsoftware.com/en-us/pri ... cases.html
a little newbie question
could this method cause some issues with the disk that could lead to its breaking of lifespan decrease. Isn't it?
Last edited by samlarsoonn on Tue May 04, 2021 12:49 pm, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
Support
Support Team
Support Team
Posts: 3091
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2008 2:42 am

Re: Optane alternative for AMD

Post by Support »

samlarsoonn wrote: Mon Apr 19, 2021 12:49 pm could this method cause some issues with the disk that could lead to its breaking or lifespan decrease
When SSDs are used as cache drive, write wear is inevitable. However, if only caching read data and cache space is large (compared with amount of daily hot data), write wear is affordable because after data is cached once, they are persistently stored in SSDs and don't need to re-fetch across reboots.
Primo Ramdisk | PrimoCache
Romex Software Support
Shoonay
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2020 6:53 am

Re: Optane alternative for AMD

Post by Shoonay »

Intel Optane works just fine with AMD, it's just an SSD drive.
You can't install Intel Optane software manager on AMD, just use PrimoCache, I had it configured like that for months.
Post Reply