Pagefile on hybrid disk

FAQ, getting help, user experience about Primo Ramdisk
Post Reply
points
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 56
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2016 10:51 am

Pagefile on hybrid disk

Post by points »

While it is possible to set a RAM-only Ramdisk as location for the pagefile it did not work with a hybrid disk.

Is that a known limitation? The idea was to use a hybrid disk as storage location for the page file so it will fill up RAM first and if it gets to big the disk.
User avatar
Support
Support Team
Support Team
Posts: 2927
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2008 2:42 am

Re: Pagefile on hybrid disk

Post by Support »

It's a known limitation and prevented by the program. If set up the paging file on a hybrid disk, when it access the disk storage part, it may cause deadlock.
Primo Ramdisk | PrimoCache
Romex Software Support
user4653453
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2020 5:23 am

Re: Pagefile on hybrid disk

Post by user4653453 »

when i create a ramdisk and set pagefile to that, it seems windows is looking for pagefile before the ramdisk is created on boot, cause i get the "windows created a temporary blabla because of a problem with pagefile when starting"

u dont get that?
points
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 56
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2016 10:51 am

Re: Pagefile on hybrid disk

Post by points »

user4653453 wrote:
Thu Mar 12, 2020 6:46 am
when i create a ramdisk and set pagefile to that, it seems windows is looking for pagefile before the ramdisk is created on boot, cause i get the "windows created a temporary blabla because of a problem with pagefile when starting"

u dont get that?
This is exactly what I am seeing.
support wrote:
Thu Mar 12, 2020 5:01 am
It's a known limitation and prevented by the program. If set up the paging file on a hybrid disk, when it access the disk storage part, it may cause deadlock.
That's a pity. I did not see that this specific limitation has been stated in the known issues list or anywhere else on your website. Are you working on resolving this limitation as I have just recently upgraded to the pro version only for this reason.
With a dynamic pagefile size enabled and initial size so small that it fits entirely into the RAM part of the hybrid disk on boot, shouldn't it be possible to get around a possible deadlock?
User avatar
Support
Support Team
Support Team
Posts: 2927
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2008 2:42 am

Re: Pagefile on hybrid disk

Post by Support »

user4653453 wrote:
Thu Mar 12, 2020 6:46 am
when i create a ramdisk and set pagefile to that, it seems windows is looking for pagefile before the ramdisk is created on boot, cause i get the "windows created a temporary blabla because of a problem with pagefile when starting"

u dont get that?
Do you use the latest version?
Primo Ramdisk | PrimoCache
Romex Software Support
User avatar
Support
Support Team
Support Team
Posts: 2927
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2008 2:42 am

Re: Pagefile on hybrid disk

Post by Support »

points wrote:
Thu Mar 12, 2020 8:21 am
I did not see that this specific limitation has been stated in the known issues list or anywhere else on your website. Are you working on resolving this limitation as I have just recently upgraded to the pro version only for this reason.
I'm sorry for this. We will update the known issues list. This issue cannot be resolved according to the principle of paging files. We can refund your upgrade, please contact orders@romexsoftware.com.
points wrote:
Thu Mar 12, 2020 8:21 am
With a dynamic pagefile size enabled and initial size so small that it fits entirely into the RAM part of the hybrid disk on boot, shouldn't it be possible to get around a possible deadlock?
No, if paging file extends to the disk storage part, deadlock may happen. So Primo Ramdisk disables paging files on hybrid disks or file disks.
Primo Ramdisk | PrimoCache
Romex Software Support
InquiringMind
Level SS
Level SS
Posts: 405
Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2010 11:10 pm

Re: Pagefile on hybrid disk

Post by InquiringMind »

points wrote:
Thu Mar 12, 2020 8:21 am
...Are you working on resolving this limitation as I have just recently upgraded to the pro version only for this reason...
I work around this issue by using two ramdisks:
  • a standard one for the pagefile only, the pagefile being set to a fixed size and the ramdisk sized just large enough to accommodate it, plus;
  • a hybrid ramdisk for everything else (temp files, program caches, etc).
Pagefile access is a critical part of Windows' operation and many competing products can't accommodate it at all, so having this workaround should be adequate for most cases.
Post Reply