Lock specific folder-files into FancyCache (no invalidate)

Report bugs or suggestions around FancyCache
Post Reply
robertcollier4
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2012 6:35 am

Lock specific folder-files into FancyCache (no invalidate)

Post by robertcollier4 »

Hi - what often happens is that I would like to specify a certain folder (such as my Firefox Application folder and Firefox Data folder) to STAY IN RAM always. What happens often is that I will go and do some video conversion work, etc. - and then my old cache will get invalidated. It would be nice to be able to tell FancyCache to not remove certain blocks from memory if they map to certain Folder locations.

This would be similar to the vmtouch -l command in linux:
http://hoytech.com/vmtouch/vmtouch.html
http://hoytech.com/vmtouch/
Daemonise and lock all files in a directory into physical memory:
vmtouch -dl /var/www/htdocs/critical/
Manny
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2012 11:42 pm

Re: Lock specific folder-files into FancyCache (no invalidat

Post by Manny »

I can suggest temporal solution for that :)
Just put your FF folders on the RamDisk. If it is immutable data then you can use common RamDisk, if it also contains some growing folder you can try separate HYBRID mode disk for it.
For example i have cache enadled on system disk.
And also i have hybrid ram disk (512mb ram + 4GB hdd) for TEMP folder + FF cache + other temp stuff.
robertcollier4
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2012 6:35 am

Re: Lock specific folder-files into FancyCache (no invalidat

Post by robertcollier4 »

Thanks - I already do this with FirefoxPortable on a RAMDisk. But it would be much easier if I could just specify specific application folders in "C:\Program Files" that I want to keep in FancyCache. For example - Photoshop or Illustrator. It is additional work having to find Portable Versions of all apps if I want to run them in RAM.

I think this would be quite easy to implement. Each block in RAM should already have a corresponding file-location in its metadata. During cache overflow when FancyCache is looking to try to free blocks - go through the existing LRU-LFU algorithm to find oldest blocks in RAM to delete - then in addition check If the block file-location matches a certain DontInvalidate-Path-Filter. If it matches - then don't invalidate this block and continue down the LRU-LFU list.
Manny
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2012 11:42 pm

Re: Lock specific folder-files into FancyCache (no invalidat

Post by Manny »

no need to use portable versions, you can use NTFS symbolic links
here is screenshot of my links http://clip2net.com/s/2wnlA
as you can see i have moved some folders like Chrome cache and IE DOM model to ram drive, because you can't do that using settings
same way you can move any folder you want to any drive with any file system, and software would not notice anything

p.s. i'm not from dev team
Post Reply