Vsuite RamDisk Drive is detected like a system disk.

Report bugs or suggestions around VSuite Ramdisk
Post Reply
sst
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 56
Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2009 3:16 pm

Vsuite RamDisk Drive is detected like a system disk.

Post by sst »

Hi, ...

Vsuite RamDisk Drive is detected like a system disk.

Vsuite RamDisk Drive is detected like a system disk. = It's when i try to make an complete a windows image backup, inside Windows 7 x64 Ultimate.

The real problem is when i whant restore the complete image backup, from Windows repair disk CD/DVD.
sst

User avatar
Support
Support Team
Support Team
Posts: 2750
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2008 2:42 am

Re: Vsuite RamDisk Drive is detected like a system disk.

Post by Support »

Hi sst,

Sorry, I don’t quite understand the problem you mentioned. Do you mean that Windows failed to restore the image backup from repair disk cd/dvd?

Anyway, we'll try to reproduce it.
Primo Ramdisk | PrimoCache
Romex Software Support

sst
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 56
Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2009 3:16 pm

Re: Vsuite RamDisk Drive is detected like a system disk.

Post by sst »

Hi, ...
Hi sst,

Sorry, I don’t quite understand the problem you mentioned. Do you mean that Windows failed to restore the image backup from repair disk cd/dvd?

Anyway, we'll try to reproduce it.
Hi, ...

Vsuite RamDisk Drive is detected like a system disk.

Vsuite RamDisk Drive is detected like a system disk. = It's when i try to make an complete a windows image backup, inside Windows 7 x64 Ultimate.

The real problem is when i whant restore the complete image backup, from Windows repair disk CD/DVD
>>> Do you mean that Windows failed to restore the image backup from repair disk cd/dvd?

Respond : Yes,

because Windows try to image backup all systemdisk, and try to restore all systemdisk when using restore the image backup from repair disk cd/dvd, but the ramdisk drive is not there in "Dos and when try to complete image restore".

Now "To be sure that the ramdisk is not a systemdisk", i dont use the ramdisk for readyboost, also not for system temporary directory, and not for pagefile.

Maybe it's just Windows itself, that create and sometime update a disk to be a system disk.
sst

User avatar
Support
Support Team
Support Team
Posts: 2750
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2008 2:42 am

Re: Vsuite RamDisk Drive is detected like a system disk.

Post by Support »

Hi sst,

Thanks for the explanation. I'll check this issue soon.
Primo Ramdisk | PrimoCache
Romex Software Support

sst
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 56
Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2009 3:16 pm

Re: Vsuite RamDisk Drive is detected like a system disk.

Post by sst »

Hi, ...

If you look at Microsoft website and windows image backup, help section, it say that = "only NTFS partition type can be saved", and "All SystemDisk that is a NTFS file type will be forced to be saved = allways included".

Also, ... it not seem that it's your VSuite software the problem, but if you include some system files and/or directorys, to a NTFS RamDisk then windows made it a SystemDisk type.
sst

User avatar
Support
Support Team
Support Team
Posts: 2750
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2008 2:42 am

Re: Vsuite RamDisk Drive is detected like a system disk.

Post by Support »

Great! thank you very much for your information!
Primo Ramdisk | PrimoCache
Romex Software Support

Post Reply