Suggestion: ramdisk image loading options

Report bugs or suggestions around VSuite Ramdisk
Post Reply
kalua
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 35
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2010 1:38 pm

Suggestion: ramdisk image loading options

Post by kalua »

I would like to be able to have that image loaded at boot, but *not* saved automatically at shutdown. I can either select a manual save while in Windows, or perhaps a prompt at shutdown that asks if I want to save the image (with a timeout to accept the default the user specified).

I store my Windows profile on a ramdisk that is loaded/saved to an image at boot/shutdown. If it was loaded but not automatically saved each shutdown, this would allow me to always have my registry and profile in its pristine condition at each reboot, and undo any nutty stuff I or a program did during the last session. It would almost be like restoring a VM snapshot.

2) I would also like the ability to do a manual reload from image, and browsing of image files. I have several applications that are very disk intensive in reading/writing their home dir (and they are rally doing a lot of writes and using up the lifetime on my SSD).... but all of them combined are too large for a ramdisk. I could set up a ramdisk, say on X:, of 1GB, which is big enough to handle any one of the apps, install an app to X, and save the image. Then clear the disk, and install the next app to X:, and clear it.... and so on. Then when I wanted to run ABC, I could load the ABC image to the ramdisk, and run ABC from X:. When done, I can load the PDQ app image to the ramdisk, and run PDQ.

User avatar
Support
Support Team
Support Team
Posts: 2750
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2008 2:42 am

Re: Suggestion: ramdisk image loading options

Post by Support »

You can do the the load image only. see
http://www.romexsoftware.com/en-us/vsui ... image-only

Regarding your second suggestion. yes, we also noticed this issue. Although current program (Pro/Server edition) can do it, the operation is not very easy for users. We have started to solve the issue. Thank you.
Primo Ramdisk | PrimoCache
Romex Software Support

kalua
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 35
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2010 1:38 pm

Re: Suggestion: ramdisk image loading options

Post by kalua »

I have been using ramdisk for my Windows profile dir without the autosave option now for some time, and it works fine. I can install all kinds of stuff to test it out, and then reboot and everything is back to normal.

But sometimes, I make a change I want to keep, and forget to save it.

An option to "prompt at shutdown to save ramdisk image" would be great... so if I shutdown, it will prompt to save the ramdisk to the image or not.

User avatar
Support
Support Team
Support Team
Posts: 2750
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2008 2:42 am

Re: Suggestion: ramdisk image loading options

Post by Support »

well, thanks for the suggestion.
We'll think about it.
Primo Ramdisk | PrimoCache
Romex Software Support

User avatar
Support
Support Team
Support Team
Posts: 2750
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2008 2:42 am

Re: Suggestion: ramdisk image loading options

Post by Support »

Well, just for information, the above suggestions have been implemented in Primo Ramdisk.
Thanks.

Post Reply