Page 1 of 1

Logon process optimization

Posted: Thu Jul 04, 2019 5:10 pm
by horizon
Hi,
There could be helping a feature that pre-populates cache by blocks needed during the logon process. (=blocks required during + say 5 minutes after the logon).

There are 2 use cases:
1. For nonVDI/normal scenario: The cache is be pre-populated opportunistically on the background of the logon dialog. (e.g. if user hesitates to insert his credentials.)
2. For use on VDI scenario: The cache gets pre-populated during the boot process to improves user experience as: A. VDI's boot the process is not visible to user; B. Logon credentials are submitted automatically (hence no "user hesitation as in scenario 1), C. Logon process is visible to user.)

In both cases, this should help to improve the duration (or perception) of the logon process as well as the launch of first apps.

Of course this assumes, that primocache tracks and maintains the list of blocks access during the boot/logon.

btw: I just noticed you demonstrated the similar concept here. https://www.romexsoftware.com/en-us/pri ... -time.html (Except that you do not use precaching but L2 cache populated on the last boot. :) )

Re: Logon process optimization

Posted: Tue Jul 09, 2019 1:34 pm
by support
Thank you, horizon. PrimoCache does track the data during the boot/logon and optimize the boot process. :)

Re: Logon process optimization

Posted: Mon Jul 15, 2019 8:28 am
by horizon
support wrote:
Tue Jul 09, 2019 1:34 pm
Thank you, horizon. PrimoCache does track the data during the boot/logon and optimize the boot process. :)
Thanks. How does it work? Or is there any article on it? (Apart from one I linked... as L2 cache does not make sense in VDI scenarios.)

Re: Logon process optimization

Posted: Mon Jul 15, 2019 2:51 pm
by support
PrimoCache tracks the data accessed during the boot if system volume is cached. If prefetch is enabled, PrimoCache will prefetch these boot data. If L2 cache is enabled, PrimoCache will store them in L2 cache for future fast access.