Cache clears when paused (with BSOD)

Found a bug? Report here
Post Reply
codyschrank
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2019 6:05 am

Cache clears when paused (with BSOD)

Post by codyschrank » Fri Mar 08, 2019 7:17 am

Let me just preface this with I know the cache is supposed to be cleared under a crash / BSOD situtation to be sure it is still valid.

However, primocache still clears the l2 cache from a crash when it is paused. Is this also supposed to be the desired functionality?

I was testing new overclock settings tonight and I paused the cache specifically so it wouldn't be cleared out if my computer crashed, which it eventually did.

If this is the way it was designed is there a different way to stop the cache so it wont clear on a crash/BSOD?

Thanks!

User avatar
support
Posts: 2406
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2008 2:42 am

Re: Cache clears when paused (with BSOD)

Post by support » Mon Mar 11, 2019 9:02 am

Even the cache is paused, PrimoCache still can not make sure that source data is not varied on an unexpected shutdown.
However, we are working to improve this design, to reduce the data amount of re-caching L2.
Thanks.
Primo Ramdisk | PrimoCache
Romex Software Support

codyschrank
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2019 6:05 am

Re: Cache clears when paused (with BSOD)

Post by codyschrank » Thu Mar 28, 2019 6:52 pm

Ok thank you.

Post Reply