Can PrimoCache rival the Intel Optane System Acceleration ?

FAQ, getting help, user experience about PrimoCache
User avatar
support
Posts: 2406
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2008 2:42 am

Re: Can PrimoCache rival the Intel Optane System Acceleration ?

Post by support » Sun Mar 25, 2018 12:52 pm

As long as the Optane Memory can be correctly recognized by Windows, PrimoCache is able to use it as a level-2 cache.

If you only use the L2 cache (no ram cache), the cache performance shall generally close to the Optane Memory native performance, and in some cases, it even exceeds the Optane Memory itself. We published an article about acceleration experience of using optane memory 16GB as a cache for a HDD or a sata SSD. We also measured its read/write speed. Please see
viewtopic.php?f=33&t=4532

Optane Memory has much higher read performance than normal SSDs, while its write performance is not good. So Intel launched it for read acceleration to speed up Windows boot and application startup etc. Of course, its write performance still higher than normal HDDs.

For level-2 cache, usually 20GB cache capacity is enough for most Windows and applications and user data. Of course, as others pointed out, it depends on data usage pattern. If there are a large amount of data frequently accessed in daily work, then you may think about a bigger cache to get higher cache hit rate.

Regarding PrimoCache Defer-Write, please note that so far it still has the risk of data loss on power outage, system crash/hang, even you only use the SSD caching.
Jaga wrote:I'm not certain what Romex did to get around issues with the RST driver/software when I reported a fatal bug many years back - perhaps Support can chime in on it.
I remember this bug has already been fixed, though I cannot recall which version fixed it.
Primo Ramdisk | PrimoCache
Romex Software Support

includao
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jun 01, 2019 9:40 am

Re: Can PrimoCache rival the Intel Optane System Acceleration ?

Post by includao » Sat Jun 01, 2019 9:46 am

support wrote:
Sun Mar 25, 2018 12:52 pm
If you only use the L2 cache (no ram cache), the cache performance shall generally close to the Optane Memory native performance, and in some cases, it even exceeds the Optane Memory itself. We published an article about acceleration experience of using optane memory 16GB as a cache for a HDD or a sata SSD. We also measured its read/write speed. Please see
viewtopic.php?f=33&t=4532

@support, I can't access/see the thread you just mentioned about using optane memory as a L2 cache :( I want to see the benchmarks because I'm planing to use a 16gb optane memory has a L2 cache in PrimoCache instead of Intel's native solution.

User avatar
support
Posts: 2406
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2008 2:42 am

Re: Can PrimoCache rival the Intel Optane System Acceleration ?

Post by support » Mon Jun 03, 2019 12:40 pm

@includao, we have unlocked the thread now. You may check it again.
Primo Ramdisk | PrimoCache
Romex Software Support

includao
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jun 01, 2019 9:40 am

Re: Can PrimoCache rival the Intel Optane System Acceleration ?

Post by includao » Sat Jun 08, 2019 9:55 am

support wrote:
Mon Jun 03, 2019 12:40 pm
@includao, we have unlocked the thread now. You may check it again.
Thanks. I guess I will be using PrimoCache's solution instead of Intel's native one.

Post Reply