BSOD 0x000000D1 at boot-up (saving to image file - enabled) Topic is solved

Report bugs or suggestions around VSuite Ramdisk
flu
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2009 6:48 pm

BSOD 0x000000D1 at boot-up (saving to image file - enabled)

Post by flu » Tue Jun 02, 2009 8:20 pm

VSuite Ramdisk Public 1.8.3601.2338, Windows XP SP3 32bit, 4GB of RAM.
Created the ramdisk 1016MB in size from the "invisible" memory (1020MB was free from the start) specifying that the contents of the ramdisk should be saved to C:\ramdiskz.vdf during the shutdown. The filesystem was FAT. Drive letter - Z:.
Rebooted. It looked like the shutdown went normally (something was saving to HDD). During the boot-up the system made OOPS. Error code: 0x000000D1 (0x0A0C865B, 0x000000FF, 0x00000001, 0x8A417023).
Crash dump was not created although it should have been according to system settings.
The size of the image file was exactly 1016MB as I've checked in SafeMode.
If the image file for the ramdisk is not enabled the system boots normally with the same settings.

User avatar
support
Posts: 2422
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2008 2:42 am

Re: BSOD 0x000000D1 at boot-up (saving to image file - enabled)

Post by support » Wed Jun 03, 2009 3:32 am

Thank you for your detail bug report.

We'd like to get some extra information regarding your problem.
1) Do you use "above 4G" option for your graphic adapter? For eg, on your BIOS setting, there may be an item called "IGP Memory Addressing" or similar item, the value can be "above 4G" or "below 4G". If use "above 4G", it will conflict with the ramdisk with Invisable Memory enabled.
2) Could you try to crate a ramdisk with 100MB IM used to test if the image file can be loaded normally?
3) Is it the first version (1.8.3601.2338) you used? Did you use the previous version before, for eg. V1.6.3518.2339? Just want to know if this problem occurrs only in v1.8.3601.2338.

Because there's no mini crash dump file created, a little hard for us to locate the root cause...
Primo Ramdisk | PrimoCache
Romex Software Support

flu
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2009 6:48 pm

Re: BSOD 0x000000D1 at boot-up (saving to image file - enabled)

Post by flu » Wed Jun 03, 2009 3:49 pm

support wrote:1) Do you use "above 4G" option for your graphic adapter? For eg, on your BIOS setting, there may be an item called "IGP Memory Addressing" or similar item, the value can be "above 4G" or "below 4G". If use "above 4G", it will conflict with the ramdisk with Invisable Memory enabled.
I have a discrete video card with 1GB of RAM onboard so I don't have any settings in BIOS concerning IGP memory addressing. My BIOS also doesn't have "memory remap" option.
2) Could you try to crate a ramdisk with 100MB IM used to test if the image file can be loaded normally?
That gave me another BSOD. But this time it occured right after I pressed the "Add" button in VSuite Ramdisk GUI. The settings were the same as in my first post except for the size of the ramdisk (100MB of IM this time). Also the crash dump was created. Windbg gave me this:

Code: Select all

DRIVER_IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL (d1)
An attempt was made to access a pageable (or completely invalid) address at an
interrupt request level (IRQL) that is too high.  This is usually
caused by drivers using improper addresses.
If kernel debugger is available get stack backtrace.
Arguments:
Arg1: 6e0b8e44, memory referenced
Arg2: 000000ff, IRQL
Arg3: 00000001, value 0 = read operation, 1 = write operation
Arg4: 8a48641c, address which referenced memory

Debugging Details:
------------------


WRITE_ADDRESS:  6e0b8e44 

CURRENT_IRQL:  ff

FAULTING_IP: 
+2e2952f00ffdfdc
8a48641c ??              ???

CUSTOMER_CRASH_COUNT:  1

DEFAULT_BUCKET_ID:  DRIVER_FAULT

BUGCHECK_STR:  0xD1

TRAP_FRAME:  805513b4 -- (.trap 0xffffffff805513b4)
ErrCode = 00000002
eax=6e0b8e44 ebx=ffdffc70 ecx=ffdffc70 edx=00000f77 esi=ffdffc50 edi=8a517170
eip=8a48641c esp=80551428 ebp=80551450 iopl=0         nv up di pl nz na pe nc
cs=0008  ss=0010  ds=0023  es=0023  fs=0030  gs=0000             efl=00010006
8a48641c ??              ???
Resetting default scope

LAST_CONTROL_TRANSFER:  from 8a48641c to 805446f0

STACK_TEXT:  
805513b4 8a48641c badb0d00 00000f77 b811a162 nt!KiTrap0E+0x238
WARNING: Frame IP not in any known module. Following frames may be wrong.
80551424 b811a162 00000008 00000206 ffdffc70 0x8a48641c
80551434 80528799 ffdff000 8055c0c0 8055be60 intelppm!AcpiC1Idle+0x12
80551450 80545d4c 00000000 0000000e 00000000 nt!PopProcessorIdle+0xa9
80551454 00000000 0000000e 00000000 00000000 nt!KiIdleLoop+0x10


STACK_COMMAND:  kb

FOLLOWUP_IP: 
intelppm!AcpiC1Idle+12
b811a162 6a00            push    0

SYMBOL_STACK_INDEX:  2

SYMBOL_NAME:  intelppm!AcpiC1Idle+12

FOLLOWUP_NAME:  MachineOwner

MODULE_NAME: intelppm

IMAGE_NAME:  intelppm.sys

DEBUG_FLR_IMAGE_TIMESTAMP:  48025183

FAILURE_BUCKET_ID:  0xD1_intelppm!AcpiC1Idle+12

BUCKET_ID:  0xD1_intelppm!AcpiC1Idle+12

Followup: MachineOwner
3) Is it the first version (1.8.3601.2338) you used? Did you use the previous version before, for eg. V1.6.3518.2339? Just want to know if this problem occurrs only in v1.8.3601.2338.
I used only 1.8.3601.2338.
Last edited by flu on Wed Jun 03, 2009 4:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

flu
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2009 6:48 pm

Re: BSOD 0x000000D1 at boot-up (saving to image file - enabled)

Post by flu » Wed Jun 03, 2009 3:58 pm

If the ramdisk is created from the memory visible to OS no BSODs are occuring. Saving to & restoring from the image file works just fine.

User avatar
support
Posts: 2422
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2008 2:42 am

Re: BSOD 0x000000D1 at boot-up (saving to image file - enabled)

Post by support » Wed Jun 03, 2009 4:45 pm

hmmm, could you provide the hardware information, especially about CPU and motherboard? Are you using AMD cpu?
And could you send the this crash dump file to us? support@romexsoftware.com

From the crump file, problem is related to intelppm.sys. If you would like to help us do a test at first, you may disable this driver: at registry HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\Intelppm
change the 'Start' value to '4'.
After reboot, create the ramdisk using 100MB IM again to see what would happen.
Primo Ramdisk | PrimoCache
Romex Software Support

flu
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2009 6:48 pm

Re: BSOD 0x000000D1 at boot-up (saving to image file - enabled)

Post by flu » Wed Jun 03, 2009 9:43 pm

support wrote:hmmm, could you provide the hardware information, especially about CPU and motherboard? Are you using AMD cpu?
Q6700 + EP43-DS3LR
And could you send the this crash dump file to us? support@romexsoftware.com
No. But I think I can provide you with some info from it. Just ask.
From the crump file, problem is related to intelppm.sys. If you would like to help us do a test at first, you may disable this driver: at registry HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\Intelppm
change the 'Start' value to '4'.
After reboot, create the ramdisk using 100MB IM again to see what would happen.
Ramdisk created normally but after reboot during boot-up I got the same 0x000000D1 BSOD.

User avatar
support
Posts: 2422
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2008 2:42 am

Re: BSOD 0x000000D1 at boot-up (saving to image file - enabled)

Post by support » Thu Jun 04, 2009 4:12 pm

Well, we find a possible cause. But we cannot verify and dont know if it is relating to this problem. If you would like to help us do a test, we will send you the test version later.
Primo Ramdisk | PrimoCache
Romex Software Support

horizon
Posts: 44
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2009 9:05 am

Re: BSOD 0x000000D1 at boot-up (saving to image file - enabled)

Post by horizon » Tue Jun 30, 2009 9:54 pm

Hi All,
I just experienced something very similar.
1. I have enabled the usage of hidden memory and successfuly created and destroyed Ramdisk. (no image)
2. Than I have configured Ramdisk to use the hodden memory as well to use the image. (As soon as I have confirmed creation of the file and save on shutdown), the computer immediately reset.
3. After boot: I repeated (2) to eliminate any conflict. The same result, computer rebooted.
4. After boot: I have created/started the ramdrive without the image. (Everything ok.) Than I have enabled the image for that drive. (I confirmed the dialog, stating that some settings will be effective after the reboot.)
5. I initiated the restart. (Computer got stuck during the shutdown process.)
6. I restarted via power-off, power-on.
7. During the boot process, it crashed to bsod with the same bugcheck. (I cannot confirm the other arguments, because I don't remember them.) ( Crashdump wasn't created... The reason for this might be, that I have got pagefile completely disabled.)

My version is 1.8.3601.2338
My computer is Dell Latitude D630, 4GB ram. Ramdrive (512MB) is mapped to Z:, NTFS

Graphic card: Mobile Intel(R) 965 Express Chipset Family. (Probably, that it is integrated with shared memory or st. like that... I don;t have an access to bios, so I cannot check the settings.)

intelppm.sys: 5.1.2600.2180 (xpsp_sp2_rtm.040803-2158) ... (I am a little bit hesitating to disable it, as it seems to be "Processor Device Driver". I assume, that disabling it will make the system use some compatibility diver... Which is something, I don't really want.)

User avatar
support
Posts: 2422
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2008 2:42 am

Re: BSOD 0x000000D1 at boot-up (saving to image file - enabled)

Post by support » Wed Jul 01, 2009 12:50 am

Perhaps we can get a computer same type as yours later. We will try to solve this problem. So far we have received total 3 reports of this bug.
Primo Ramdisk | PrimoCache
Romex Software Support

HalfHuman
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2009 10:18 am

Re: BSOD 0x000000D1 at boot-up (saving to image file - enabled)

Post by HalfHuman » Thu Jul 09, 2009 10:27 am

hello

just installed ramdisk personal edition.
specs: dell optiplex 745, c2d 6700, 4gb ram (only 2,99 seen), onboard graphics (intel 3100), winxp pro sp3 32bit.
just got the same exception as the guys before me.
i'm using hidden memory. it crashed when i selected the option to use image file. if i do not select this option then all goes ok. the thing is that after i rebooted then it was also generating the same error. safe mode was not functional. what saved me was: "use the last settings that worked". (this is funny 'coz this option never vorked before in my relationship with windows xp :) )
i've made disks sizes: 500mb, 1020mb, 1000mb. only thing that seemed to matter was wheteher image file was enabled or not. when trying to recreate a new drive using the old image size it also threw an error and windows just restarted. i think that the image file gets corrupted when windows tries to save it's content on windows shutdown.

please help.

Post Reply